World Cup 2022 Play-Off Draw: Portugal And Italy Have Been Drawn In The Same Group For The 2022 World Cup Play-Offs

There are 12 European countries actually sticking to fantasies about coming to Qatar, yet just three of those will be fruitful, 

Just one of Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal and Euro 2020 victors Italy will book their place at World Cup 2022, with the two heavyweight countries gazing at each other in a possible last matchup with a spot in Qatar on the line.

Portugal will confront Turkey while Italy will take on North Macedonia in their semi-last play-off matchups, with the victors of those games set to crash in the Way C finale. The victor of that finale will go to Qatar, with the washout passing up the World Cup.

English hopefuls Scotland and Ribs will have to overcome Ukraine and Austria to keep their fantasies about arriving at the finals in Qatar alive, with the victors of those games going head to head in the Way A finale.

Somewhere else, Zlatan Ibrahimovic will want to edge a bit nearer to gracing another significant worldwide competition when Sweden take on Czech Republic, while Russia should beat Poland in Way B.

World Cup 2022 play-off draw

Path Semi-last matchup

A Scotland versus Ukraine

A Wales versus Austria

B Russia versus Poland

B Sweden versus Czech Republic

C Italy versus North Macedonia

C Portugal versus Turkey

What has been said?

“It’s an undeniably challenging draw for us,” said Italy manager Roberto Mancini, “on the grounds that North Macedonia is a decent group and assuming we win, we need to play away to Turkey or Portugal in the last. It’s exceptionally solid.”

How does the arrangement function?

The 12 leftover groups fighting it out for three spots at Qatar 2022 have been parted into three ways of four countries.

Six semi-finals will happen altogether, with the victors of those continuing on to finals that will decide the excess qualifiers.

When will the matches happen?

The semi-finals will be played on Walk 24 and 25 out of 2022, with the finals being hung on Walk 28 and 29.

Who has as of now qualified?

Ten nations have as of now advanced through the gathering phase of UEFA capability.

They are Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, France, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Croatia, Britain and Germany.

Somewhere else, Brazil and Argentina have booked their places at the finals close by has Qatar.

About the author


Leave a Comment